Federal Judge Orders FDA to Speed Up Vaping Products Safety Review

Federal Judge Orders FDA to Speed Up Vaping Products Safety Review

Federal judge Paul W Grimm ruled to fast-track an ongoing safety review of thousands of vaping products currently being conducted by the FDA. The decision is part of a lawsuit filed against the FDA by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), along with other health organizations.

The AAP and associates claim that the FDA unjustifiably delayed safety and health reviews on the impact of e-cigarettes and cigars. Judge Grimm “ruled that, in 2017, the agency acted illegally by allowing e-cigarettes to remain on the market until 2022 before companies applied for FDA authorization and by permitting products to remain on the market indefinitely during review.” said Michael Felberbaum, FDA spokesperson. Felberbaum went on to say, “The agency has and will continue to tackle the troubling epidemic of e-cigarette use among kids. This includes preventing youth access to, and appeal of, flavored tobacco products like e-cigarettes and cigars, taking action against manufacturers and retailers who illegally market or sell these products to minors, and educating youth about the dangers of e-cigarettes and other tobacco products.”

Grimm allotted a 30-day period for both the Plaintiff and Defense to devise plans to move forward with the vaping products review.

Share

Litigation Updates

Vape Co. to pay $51M over youth ad blitz, mass. AG says

December 16, 2021

December 16, 2021

Vape Co. to pay $51M over youth ad blitz, mass. AG says

Juul Urges Federal Judge to Select School Districts as First Two MDL Bellwether Trials

November 2, 2021

November 2, 2021

Juul Urges Federal Judge to Select School Districts as First Two MDL Bellwether Trials

New Mexico E-Cigarette Shop Hit with $2.5 million Jury Verdict for Defective Lithium-Ion Battery

October 15, 2021

October 15, 2021

New Mexico E-Cigarette Shop Hit with $2.5 million Jury Verdict for Defective Lithium-Ion Battery

E-Cigarettes, Including JUUL, Under Review and Potentially Banned

September 20, 2021

September 20, 2021

E-Cigarettes, Including JUUL, Under Review and Potentially Banned

Chicago Files E-Cigarette Lawsuit Over Flavored Tobacco After New Tobacco Regulations

February 2, 2021

February 2, 2021

Chicago Files E-Cigarette Lawsuit Over Flavored Tobacco After New Tobacco Regulations

Juul, Altria Must Face Public Nuisance and Negligence Claims

October 27, 2020

October 27, 2020

Juul, Altria Must Face Public Nuisance and Negligence Claims

CLIENT REVIEWS

quotation
Tom Lewis

TorHoerman Law was responsible for handling a medical case for our family. I was extremely impressed with their professionalism and ability to react quickly. They also did a nice job keeping us updated with the case throughout the process. This was the first time experiencing a situation like this and Tor Hoerman law did an excellent job from start to finish.

quotation
Jordan Terry

TorHoerman Law is an extraordinary law firm – a firm that truly makes the client’s best interests the primary concern. Their team of personal injury lawyers are experienced, personable, and well versed in a range of litigation areas. They are supported by a dedicated team of staff that are as equally friendly and helpful. I would recommend TorHoerman Law for any personal injury litigation needs.

quotation
Dave Woodley

All of my questions were answered quickly and in a way I could understand. Steve and the entire staff were friendly and professional.

quotation
Jordan Butler

I highly recommend this law firm! The attorneys and staff at THL worked hard, communicated every step of the process, kept me well informed at all times, and exceeded all expectations! The staff is kind, considerate, professional, and very experienced. Look no further, call now!

quotation
Maddy Moeller

Top-notch, hardworking attorneys!

quotation
Karen Hersman

A wonderful and professional legal team. They helped me when I needed expert legal representation! Thank you TorHoerman Law!

quotation
Angel Truesdale

They contacted me the next day. Very nice people!

THANK YOU FOR YOUR MESSAGE

One of our associates will follow up with you shortly