What is My State’s Statute of Limitations? | All 50 State SoL’s

 

What is My State's Statute of Limitations? ; each state’s statute of limitations; statute of limitations for all 50 states

The statute of limitations bars the amount of time that an individual or party has to take legal action after an incident has taken place, an injury has occurred, a diagnosis has been made, or an event has taken place. The statute of limitations is set by the state that you live in. These statutes differ for different types of accidents, injuries, events, and other legal actions. If you have suffered a personal injury, you may be asking, “what are my State’s statute of limitations?”.

Use the guide below as a broad outline of statute of limitations state-by-state. This guideline is by no means a definitive outline of state statute of limitations by state, but rather a reference for potential limitations. Depending on the legal action you plan to take and the district that you plan to file your civil lawsuit in, these SOL’s may change.

Consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer to discuss your situation and determine what your SOL timeline looks like.

 

What is my State’s Statute of Limitations? 

State Statute of Limitations for personal injuries:

Alabama Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Alaska Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Arizona Civil Statute of Limitations2 years

Arkansas Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years 

California Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Colorado Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years; 3 years for claims involving motor vehicles

Connecticut Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Delaware Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Florida Civil Statute of Limitations4 years

Georgia Civil Statute of Limitations2 years

Hawaii Civil Statute of Limitations2 years

Idaho Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Illinois Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Indiana Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Iowa Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Kansas Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Kentucky Civil Statute of Limitations – 1 year; 2 years for claims involving motor vehicles

Louisiana Civil Statute of Limitations – 1 year

Maine Civil Statute of Limitations6 years

Maryland Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Massachusetts Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Michigan Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years; 1 year for personal injury (PIP) claims

Minnesota Civil Statute of Limitations – 6 years

Mississippi Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Missouri Civil Statute of Limitations – 5 years

Montana Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Nebraska Civil Statute of Limitations – 4 years

Nevada Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

New Hampshire Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

New Jersey Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

New Mexico Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

New York Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

North Carolina Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

North Dakota Civil Statute of Limitations – 6 years

Ohio Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Oklahoma Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Oregon Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Pennsylvania Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Rhode Island Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

South Carolina Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

South Dakota Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Tennessee Civil Statute of Limitations – 1 year

Texas Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Utah Civil Statute of Limitations – 4 years

Vermont Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Virginia Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Washington Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

West Virginia Civil Statute of Limitations – 2 years

Wisconsin Civil Statute of Limitations – 3 years

Wyoming Civil Statute of Limitations – 4 years

 

 

I Do Not Know My Statute of Limitations

Unsure whether your case meets your State SOL?

Contact us for a free, no obligation case consultation with an experienced personal injury attorney today.

 

 

Summary
What is My State's Statute of Limitations? | All 50 State SoL's
Article Name
What is My State's Statute of Limitations? | All 50 State SoL's
Description
Involved in a personal injury? You may be asking "What are My State's Statute of Limitations?" Here are 50 State Statute of Limitations.
Author
Publisher Name
TorHoerman Law
Publisher Logo

No Comments Posted

Comments are closed here.


« Read more related news

Filter News